“I Can” versus “I Do”

The thought behind this concept arises in my mind while attending a Spiritual Program arranged at our Office Premises. Program was exclusively talking about our Human Existence. Many of my colleagues were too much impress whereas some were behaving absolutely opposite than former situations. There may be their own perception, for which I completely respect them. But this thought of “I Can versus I Do” emerges while discussing with those employees who were convince with the faculty that how spiritual science plays an important role in Human Existence and also helps us to live our life in better way; But can’t work out on such spiritual practices because of their own rigid mindset and reluctance towards upcoming changes in new life though it’s good for them.

In a four days Training Program, “I Can” and “I Do” were the most frequent verbs used by my colleagues in every conversation and discussion. This brings me to write down an article about “I Can” versus “I Do” by re-collecting my experiences and coming thoughts upon it. Fortunately in a very short period I have drafted and finalized the article. This article has no intension to hurt someone feeling or attitude of any person while acting and reacting towards different situation in terms of “I Can” & “I Do”.

Below article is purely based on my thoughts and experience.

“I can” is empowering while,

 “I do” is life changing.

There is a slight yet powerful difference between these two verbs.

“I can” will change your internal reality and will make you believe that you are truly able to do it. But it won’t do it for you. It will always remain at the internal level, it won’t reach out.

On the other side, “I do” will modify your surroundings and make things happening. “I do” is the reality itself, not just an internal representation of it.

This is one of the most important, yet widely ignored confusions in the personal development field.

“I can” traps like

  • I can be a millionaire.
  • I can fulfill all relationship.
  • I can create a fantastic career.
  • I can change the world.

All those sentences are empowering, but they are not modifying anything. They are just a potential and sometimes they are a trap.

Having powerful thoughts and using powerful verbs like “I do” is certainly important because it gives you a kick start, it can motivate you, once you switch to the “I do” level.

“I do” thrills like

  • I’m becoming a millionaire.
  • I’m fulfilling all relationship.
  • I’m building a fantastic career.
  • I am changing the world, starting with myself.

Notice the difference? It’s not about the fact that you can do all those things, but about actually doing them. Notice the change in your emotions while reading this? The “I can” sentences are giving you self-confidence, clarity and perhaps some motivation boost.

But the “I do” sentences are giving you the thrills. And this is where all the fun is, at the thrill level. All the connection of joy and ultimate happiness of life is taking place at the “I do” level. All the rest – including the “I can” preparation – is just a scaffold to reach this thrill level.

From “I Can” to “I Do”

How many times you’ve been stuck at the “I can” level?

How many times you wrote powerful and motivating sentences but never actually did something?

How many times you visualized your goals, set up milestones, but didn’t move forward?

Switching from “I can” to “I do” is difficult. Here’s why:

  • “I Can” is Comfortable situation whereas, “I Do” is Riskier situation

I can keep you in the comfort zone; it won’t move you in any direction.

I do take you out of the comfort zone and pushes you to break the limits and actually do. There is always a risk of failing if you do something. But if you don’t, you won’t change anything either.

  • I Can” is nice, “I Do” is grumpy

At the “I can” level things are pinky and perfect. You see your goals, , a perfect career, a nurturing relationship. Everything is nice.

At the “I do” level things are sometimes ugly. You have to fight, to resist, to pull, to strive. Getting there means almost every time beating some obstacles. This is not always nice….

  • “I Can” makes no promises, “I Do” respects all the promises

At the “I can” level you don’t make promises, you’re just telling “ok, I’m able to do it”. You won’t commit to anything. You’re just acknowledging some facts.

At the “I do” level you have to respect your commitments. Doing things means keeping your promises. Make things happening. Stand up for your words.

  • “I Can” is easy, “I Do” is hard

Because you make no real commitments, “I can” gives you room to dream big. I can be whatever I want. It’s spectacular and easy. You’re just saying it.

Once you start keeping your promises, the big dreams must become reality. And that’s hard. It’s not always spectacular and it requires constant, difficult work.

  • “I Can” is a thought, “I Do” is an action

Think for a moment at this situation: you met the love of your life, you fell in love and now you want to move forward. “I Can” marry you is a thought, while “I Do” marry you is an action.

Now, how can you really move from “I can” to “I do”? If you read the differences above carefully, I think you already know. And, surprisingly enough, it’s not complicated. You knew it all the time.

If you really, really want to switch from “I can” to “I do” you have to get out from your comfort zone. You have to be prepared to fail. You have to make and keep promises. You have to work it out. Thinking that you can do stuff is important, but making it happen is a completely different process. And in my opinion, this is where all the fun is, at making things happen.

Thinking big is good, doing big is even better.

And, yes, the most important step to actually do something is to move away from the computer right now and start making things happen. Reading blogs, including this one, won’t help for long. It might help in the beginning, it will give you some directions, but it won’t make things happening in your place.

The real master of your life is you, not a blog.

Step out, take risks and do something with your life.

 Of course you can. Now do it!


36 Comments Add yours

  1. I am always browsing online for articles that can benefit me. Thx!

  2. I conceive this web website has got some quite excellent information for every person : D.

  3. I really like reading and I conceive this website got some truly utilitarian stuff on it! .

  4. Jeneva says:

    I’d have to check with you here. Which is not something I usually do! I enjoy reading a post that will make people think. Also, thanks for allowing me to comment!

  5. I am impressed with this website, real I am a fan.

  6. I just want to mention I’m all new to blogs and certainly enjoyed this web blog. Most likely I’m likely to bookmark your blog post . You definitely have terrific well written articles. Regards for sharing your website page.

  7. Thank you for some other excellent article. Where else may just anybody get that kind of information in such a perfect manner of writing? I’ve a presentation subsequent week, and I’m on the look for such information.

  8. I am not sure where you are getting your info, but great topic. I needs to spend a while learning much more or understanding more. Thanks for magnificent info I was searching for this info for my mission.

  9. I simply want to say I’m beginner to blogging and actually enjoyed your web-site. Most likely I’m planning to bookmark your blog post . You really come with outstanding articles and reviews. Kudos for revealing your blog.

  10. Really superb visual appeal on this web site, I’d rate it 10.

  11. Please let me know if you’re looking for a writer for your weblog. You have some really great posts and I feel I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d really like to write some articles for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please blast me an e-mail if interested. Cheers!

  12. Luigi Fulk says:

    It’s hard to find knowledgeable people on this topic, but you sound like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

  13. I will immediately grab your rss as I can not in finding your e-mail subscription hyperlink or newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Please allow me realize in order that I could subscribe. Thanks.

  14. Appreciate it for this post, I am a big fan of this website would like to continue updated.

  15. A lot of thanks for your entire efforts on this web site. My mom take interest in making time for research and it’s really simple to grasp why. Many of us hear all concerning the compelling tactic you provide invaluable tactics via the blog and even increase contribution from other people about this point and our own princess is certainly understanding a great deal. Enjoy the remaining portion of the new year. You have been conducting a tremendous job.

  16. I believe this internet site has some very good info for everyone :D. “This is an age in which one cannot find common sense without a search warrant.” by George Will.

  17. I respect your piece of work, appreciate it for all of the intriguing content material .

  18. Great article and right to the point. I don’t know if this is truly the best place to ask but do you guys have any thoughts on where to get some professional writers? Thanks in advance 🙂

  19. Bernardina says:

    I just couldn’t depart your website prior to suggesting that I extremely enjoyed the standard info a person provide for your visitors? Is gonna be back often in order to check up on new posts

  20. Good web site! I truly love how it is easy on my eyes and the data are well written. I’m wondering how I could be notified when a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your RSS which must do the trick! Have a great day! “Reputation is what other people know about you. Honor is what you know about yourself.” by Lois McMaster Bujold.

  21. My bro saved this online website for me and I’ve been studying via it for the past couple hrs. This is certainly genuinely likely to assist me and my classmates for our class project. Incidentally, I enjoy the best way you write.

  22. As soon as I found this website I went on reddit to share some of the love with them.

  23. veloenfant says:

    Perfectly pent written content, thanks for entropy. “The last time I saw him he was walking down Lover’s Lane holding his own hand.” by Fred Allen.

  24. I adore looking through and I believe this website got some genuinely useful stuff on it!

  25. Of course, what a splendid blog and revealing posts, I will bookmark your website.All the Best!

  26. I like this web blog so much, saved to bookmarks. “I don’t care what is written about me so long as it isn’t true.” by Dorothy Parker.

  27. Get free WSO says:

    Thanks for this wonderful. I’m wondering should you were planning of publishing similar articles to this 1. .Keep up the outstanding posts!

  28. Curtis says:

    love a lot of the stuff especially the cute design

  29. Blanchard says:

    An impressive share, I simply given this onto a colleague who was doing a little bit evaluation on this. And he in truth bought me breakfast as a result of I discovered it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the deal with! However yeah Thnkx for spending the time to debate this, I really feel strongly about it and love reading more on this topic. If potential, as you turn into experience, would you thoughts updating your weblog with extra details? It is highly helpful for me. Huge thumb up for this weblog submit!

  30. Andrew Pelt says:

    I just want to say I’m all new to blogging and site-building and actually savored you’re web blog. Most likely I’m going to bookmark your website . You definitely come with tremendous articles. Thanks a lot for sharing your website page.

  31. I just want to mention I am new to blogs and definitely savored this web site. Very likely I’m want to bookmark your blog . You surely have impressive well written articles. Cheers for sharing your website page.

  32. Junaid May says:

    Well “I Can” is also positive term but i have never thought that “I Do” will take you move towards thrills of life as you said….

    But i completely agree with you that “I Can” is comfort zone and “I Do” is committment

  33. Shriram Sarkar says:

    Wowest….to nahi hai but its even more than that….Keep it up!!

  34. Suchi Shah says:

    According to me, an article is said to be effective only when it enters your mind, reaches your heart and produces wonderful outcome. Inshort, this article has done its job.. Keep it going!

    1. Riddhi Patel says:

      Yeah dats the core of all the activities in Life…
      Thanx …

Leave a Reply

